Sporting da Covilha

Sporting Clube da Covilha, commonly known as just Sporting da Covilha, is Portuguese football club from the city of Covilha that plays in the second-tier Liga Portugal 2. The club was founded in 1923. Their nickname is the Leoes da Serra, meaning "Lions of the Mountain Range," due to Covilha's location in the Serra de Estrela, the highest mountains in Portugal.

Their home ground is Estadio Municipal Jose dos Santos Pinto, located at approximately 900 m of altitude. However, SCC play sometimes at a more recent Complexo Desportivo da Covilha in Covilha, which holds a capacity of 3,000 spectators. Their current chairman is Jose Oliveira Mendes and current manager is Ernesto Cangalho. They have won five Second Division in 1948, 1969, 1987 (second-tier), 2002, and 2005 (third-tier). The club is now in their first consecutive presence in the best tier.


  • Portuguese First Division (15 participations)
  • Portuguese Second Division (11 participations) – 1948–49, 1958–59, 1986–87, 1996–97, 1999–00, 2002–03, 2005–06, 2008–09, 2009–10, 2010–11, 2011–12
  • Portuguese Cup – Runners-up (1) – 1956–1957

This page also has a version in other languages:  Спортинг (Ковильян) (russian)

Sporting da Covilha