Rayo Majadahonda

Club de Futbol Rayo Majadahonda (Spanish pronunciation: [ˈraʝo maxaðaˈonda]) is a Spanish football team based in Majadahonda, in the autonomous community of Madrid. Founded in 1976 it plays in Primera Division RFEF – Group 1, holding home games at Estadio Cerro del Espino, with a capacity of 3,800 seats.


Rayo Majadahonda was founded in 1976, being immediately registered in the Madrid Football Federation. It played in the regional divisions until 1987 when it achieved promotion to Tercera Division. The club entered this new period with the new president Enrique Vedia, starting from June 30, 1987.

The club established themselves in the fourth division until the 1996–97 campaign, when it achieved a first-ever promotion to Segunda Division B. Two consecutive relegations followed, but the club immediately regained their national status in 2000. Then, it subsequently remained in the fourth level until 2015 (only split by a one-season spell in the third division), when it achieved promotion with club legend Antonio Iriondo as manager.

This page also has a version in other languages:  Райо Махадаонда (русский)

Rayo Majadahonda