FC Viktoria 1889 Berlin

Fusball-Club Viktoria 1889 Berlin Lichterfelde-Tempelhof e.V., commonly known as FC Viktoria 1889 Berlin or Viktoria Berlin, is a German association football club based in the locality of Lichterfelde of the borough of Steglitz-Zehlendorf in Berlin. The club was formed on 1 July 2013 from a merger of BFC Viktoria 1889 and Lichterfelder FC. The club has the largest football department in Germany with 1,600 active members.


Viktoria 1889 Berlin was formed in a merger of BFC Viktoria 1889 and Lichterfelder FC in 2013. BFC Viktoria 1889 was one of the oldest football clubs in Germany. It was the dominant club in Berlin in the early 1900s and won the German championship in 1908 and 1911. Lichterfelder FC was a club which had gone through a number of name changes and mergers before. Lichterfelder FC had a women's team in the Frauen-Regionalliga by the time of the merger.

Viktoria Berlin made its debut in the 2013-14 Regionalliga Nordost, courtesy of a victory for BFC Viktoria 1889 in 2012-13 NOFV-Oberliga. The club won the 2013-14 Berlin Cup and thereby qualified for the first round of the 2014–15 DFB-Pokal. The club was drawn against Bundesliga club Eintracht Frankfurt. Viktoria Berlin lost 2–0 in front of 10,514 spectators at the Friedrich-Ludwig-Jahn-Sportpark.

Viktoria Berlin has the largest football department in Germany. The club had 65 teams with 1,600 members as of 2016. The club qualified for the 3. Liga after a very successful 2020–21 season. The club led 2020-21 Regionalliga Nordost when the Northeastern German Football Association (NOFV) decided to end the season prematurely after eleven rounds played due to the COVID-19 pandemic. The team had won all eleven matches played during the short season.

FC Viktoria 1889 Berlin