Club Deportivo Badajoz is a Spanish football team based in Badajoz, in the autonomous community of Extremadura. Founded in 1905 and refounded in 2012, it currently plays in Primera Division RFEF – Group 1, and holds home games at Estadio Nuevo Vivero, with a 15,198-seat capacity.


Founded after the merger of two clubs, named Racing and Sport, Badajoz became a serious member of the Spanish League in 1931, when Francisco Fernandes Marquesta donated the team their first ground, named El Vivero. Subsequently playing most of their history between the third and second divisions, the club achieved a consistent stay in the latter level during the 1990s.

Never quite good enough to reach La Liga, 11 seasons in the second division came to an end in 2003, with relegation to Segunda Division B, the new third level created in 1977. In 2006, Badajoz was saved from folding by the president of a junior club from the city, AD Cerro de Reyes, who replaced them in the third level, with Badajoz falling to the fourth.

This page also has a version in other languages:  Бадахос (russian)